Wow! Huge accomplishment!

Guess what I just got in the mail today guys…

A letter from The America Library of Poetry.

And it says this. (this isn’t the whole letter) (*** is blanked out personal info)

It is my pleasure to inform you that your poem “Nature Is Nice!” as submitted through your teacher *** at your school ***, or online through our website has been offically registered in The America Library of Poetry 2016 Student Poetry Contest. Congratulations!

(skip to another paragraph)

In the meantime Dana, I have even more exciting news for you. The America Library of Poetry would like to publish your poem “Nature is Nice!” in a special book of student poetry entitled Accomplished. Scheduled for release in the fall, this particular compilation is generating a lot of interest as it will feature only a very select cross-section of this year’s submissions.

(skip to another paragraph)

Prior to general release, The America Library of Poetry has arranged to make available to you, an initial “Author’s Copy” of Accomplished at a greatly discounted price.


Yes, if you heard it right pixies, my poem is getting published into a book! I can’t believe it! Here’s the story behind this. In class, we were able to make our own poems to submit to the contest. We submitted them in May, and now I got this letter after school ended. Sadly the book is only coming out in September. Plus, it mentions that I get an exclusive copy of the book, but it says I will possibly get it only in December 😦 Such a long time from now!

However, I am really excited! I can’t believe my poem won one of the spots in the book! This is basically one step further in me trying to become a poet/writer. I’ve always wanted to become a poet/writer, and here is an accomplishment for that!

See you later, pixie pals!

~ Rose Applefog

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wow! Huge accomplishment!

Leave a comment